Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these multinationals are harmful.

The commercial activities of multinational corporations are becoming increasingly debatable. A number of people think that the actions of huge global companies are beneficial to countries with growing economies while others maintain that these organisations have mainly adverse impacts. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why such companies are superior. There are a growing number of employees who believe that multinationals are effective patterns in terms of economic developments among developing nations. Put simply, their reasons are that the international investments provide local people with high paying jobs. In addition, a local company could be a branch of the larger businesses which can make huge profits. In Canada, for instance, statistical evidence suggests that the employees of internationals earn 32% more than staff of independent businesses. Overall, these people have good reason to believe that multinational corporations are highly profitable. In contrast to people who believe that big global companies have great advantages are those who claim that these have opposite effects which must be considered. One of the major issues is that these companies can take customers from tiny firms. This means that the local businesses would be in economic recession and even they could go bankrupt. Restaurant chains of McDonald, for example, spend numerous money to advertise their products, causing local restaurants could not sell their own food products. In short, some people feel that these multinationals can threaten small business companies. In conclusion, although several people think that multinational enterprises benefit, other economists disagree and suggest that these companies are harmful. This essay discussed the various reasons why people hold these points of views and whether these would be a part of economic development. In my opinion, despite having some negative influences, I believe multinational corporations are generally beneficial.