Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

Community service instills empathy and sense of responsibility. Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. I believe it has many advantages to offer rather than disadvantages for teenagers. Volunteering for community service is a good practice for teenagers it helps them understand various aspects of life and aspire them to be good citizens. These kinds of services develop them emotionally and teaches them to counter various difficult situations. Such services are not only beneficial to the teenagers but also helps other members of society for example volunteering in old age home not only makes them benevolent but also gives them the idea of accountability, whereas for elderly people they act as sense of accompany and can be assistance of various kinds. I rather strongly feel community service is good alternative to spending free time idle and non-productive. Social service also makes teenager self-reliant and prepare them for essential key skills required for then to grow in the society like team building, adjusting with new people and social duty. However, there is some downside to these services especially for teenagers, since their young minds are extremely impressionable working in community can expose them to the dark side of the society which can be difficult for them to cope. There are chances of exploitation if left unsupervised. In some cases, teenagers lose their focus on their school and studies and fall into bad company. Such all incidents can be avoided if well supervised and worked in balanced manner. In my conclusion unpaid community work is noble act and should be encouraged in every school. Such practices are idle for all-around development of young minds and nurture them to be stand up citizens q