Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and the human experience, whilst others believe th

In modern-day society, education has become a vital aspect of every child’s life. Educational facilities tend to offer a wide range of subjects aimed at educating children and teaching them various skills. Fundamental subject areas are said to be mathematics, science, languages, and physical education. Depending on the type of educational facility, a certain subject might be emphasized, yet these core subject areas are usually incorporated into nearly all educational facilities. Although it is commonly agreed that these subjects are vital for a child’s educational upbringing, opinions differ when it comes to the subject of music. Whilst some believe that musical education is an important part of growing up, others believe that it should no longer be taught in schools, as it is considered a waste of time and resources. The music falls under the subject area of art, causing it to often be considered less valuable than other subjects. Typically people believe that learning to express oneself in a creative manner is less important than learning about mathematical theories and scientific facts. Often the opponents of musical education propose that a more rationally-based education will benefit children later on in their lives, as they will be able to perceive and comprehend the logical aspects of life more easily. The supporters of musical education argue that music is beneficial for children because it offers a manner of creative self-expression. Furthermore, music is part of human culture, as it brings people together and therefore children who study music can obtain a sense of cultural knowledge. Personally, I believe that music should be taught in schools and that it is not a waste of time and resources. I played piano for seven years and believe that this has helped me become a more balanced person. It is important for a child to learn about thinking creatively and to take a break from logical subjects once in a while. In conclusion, music should be taught at school, because it enables children to express themselves creatively and to learn more about culture and human interaction.