Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

A lot of deliberation is held on whether an individual’s nature is acquired genetically or developed by the experiences offered by life. In my opinion, lifetime experiences play a greater role than genetics in a person’s development. Life experiences can mould a child into being better or worse irrespective of their biology. These experiences help one understand how the world works and the best way to fit into it. While genetic traits may influence a person's physical characteristics, emotional growth and disposition come from individual experiences. For example, even identical twins who share identical genetic makeup are almost always poles apart characteristically. A person learns a lot about his environment and these experiences often change him. For instance, I was an introvert as a child. But as I moved into a hostel in my teenage, I was transformed into a more sociable person. This was because the hostel life required more interaction with others. Therefore, I believe that innate characteristics can be altered as required by the surrounding environment. Moreover, the progress of an individual depends upon his own hard work and dedication. The child of a successful doctor need not be as successful as his father. Hence the life of an individual has a positive and negative effect on his personality and development. In conclusion, the inborn characteristics have some influence on an individual’s personality and development. However, in my opinion, it is mainly the outlook and appearance that are acquired and not the personality. Lifetime situations have a major influence on our ability to cope with our circumstances and succeed in life.