Some people believe that teaching ethics to children is responsibility of teachers. Others say that this responsibility lies with parents.

Cultivating moral values in children is a daunting task for both mentors and parents. It is often argued by some that teachers are solely responsible for teaching good ethics to children because they spend the most part of their day at school. Meanwhile, others still claim that parents should shoulder this responsibility as children imbibe behaviour from parents. This essay will explore both sides of the argument before reaching a logical opinion. On the one hand, the supporters of the idea that teachers are responsible for child ethics believe that children usually spend half of the day at school, so this time could be utilized by teacher to nurture good behaviours. Since teachers can bring reform in a child's personality, by keeping an eye on their activities. Take an example of Australia, where a report of research conducted by the Child Behaviour society revealed that the schools are the reason to inculcate daily life ethics in pupils. Thus, to some extent burden lies on mentors to teach morals to students. While on the other hand, the advocates of the view that parents should teach right and wrong to believe that they act as a role model for them. As at an early age, the brain of a child is not fully developed, so they observe the behaviour of father and mother, which are more likely to be adopted by the child. For instance, the Child Psychiatric Society in the UK has concluded through an experiment that the morals practised by a child are the reflection of parents. Hence, parents should teach morality to children by exercising them at home. Whereas I believe that children can learn ethic from both teachers and parents. This would for sure results in a child with well-shaped moral and ethical values. To sum up, from my perspective parents and teachers both play a pivotal role in building ethics in the child because children acquire characters from parents, and spend the major part of the day at school.