Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

Educating children to ensure that they grow up to be well-adjusted, functional adults is the collective responsibility of society. Traditional mode of education, that is, at schools, is favored by a majority of people, however, in recent years, there seems to be an increase in the trend of homeschooling children. Proponents of both approaches cite various benefits and drawbacks of their chosen method of education. However, I argue that it is essential for children to go to school for a variety of reasons, including for social interactions and forging friendships, developing their confidence and soft skills, the likelihood of being taught by a trained professional, and last but not the least, to be able to participate in various shows and inter and intra-school competitions. The main reason why educational institutions are preferred to homeschooling is that they foster an environment which enables children to interact with other children their age and develop friendships. Schools also teach children how to behave in social situations and with acquaintances and strangers alike, which helps build their confidence and self-esteem. A second reason is that institutions hire trained professionals who not only are experts on the subjects they teach but are also well-equipped with dealing with children. Finally, schools regularly hold competitions and talent shows that display the abilities of their students, which again, could be a confidence-booster for children, and participating in such events could further encourage students to identify their strong suits. On the other hand, there are certain advantages of teaching children at home. Children who are instructed by their parents or tutors at home may get individual attention. Moreover, their parents may be more familiar with their personal abilities and skills, and may be, therefore, able to hone them in a better way. However, there is a considerable risk of children not taking the education they receive at home seriously, which may be further augmented by the fact that parents may not be professional teachers, and hence, not able to teach their children in an appropriate manner. In conclusion, I strongly believe that schools are better equipped to deal with the issues that children face and going to school for education is more productive for children than being taught at home.