Ownership of mobile phones has risen dramatically in recent years despite the potentially harmful effects they might have on our health and on society. Governments should restrict the ownership of mobile phones to those who need them for their work. with the statement?

Mobile phones have become an integral part of our lives. Every person irrespective of age group owns the device. There has been a significant rise in its usage because of the advantages it provides, whether it is the ease of communication or acting as a source of entertainment to helping children academically. Despite having several benefits, it poses some disadvantages especially on our health and on our society. There are numerous ways in which mobile phones are making our lives easier. They make the distance seem irrelevant and help us connect to our loved ones anytime especially abroad. With the new features of video calling, we feel the same level of closeness to people as when they are physically present with us. Not only this, it has become an important part of people’s relaxation routine. They like to surf on websites like Instagram, Youtube and several others as a break from work or their monotonous schedule. Mobile phones have become extremely beneficial for students especially in a pandemic stricken world. They can attend their classes online without having to compromise on their studies. Cell phones have also proved helpful in maintaining emotional sanity during these tough covid times. Although cell phones have brightened our lives to a great extent, they are causing harmful effects on our physical as well as mental health. Children tend to spend too much time glued to phones playing games and on social media apps which in turn affect their studies and weaken their eyes. It is also largely affecting our abilities to interact socially with people which can be harmful to the community as a whole in the long run. Some people believe that introducing measures by the government to limit the ownership and usage of cell phones strictly for work-related purposes will be the right step but in my opinion, that will overlap all the benefits it provides. Instead, the government can issue health guidelines to underline the impact and the possible consequences these devices have on our lives. From my point of view, this will be the right approach to address the problems being caused by mobile phones.