Role of Extra-curricular activities in a student's life

There's no doubt that extra-curicular activities play a significant role in a student's life and all work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy. Studies are vital and so are extra-curicular activities. In order to understand the importance of these activities, let's take a closer look at them. To begin with, extra-curiculars are defined as those activities that are performed outside the classroom, not pertaining to the regular curiculum. There are a plethora of activities ranging from debate and painting clubs to music and sports clubs. The best part about them is that they are not forced upon students and each pupil gets a choice to choose any of them as per their interest. For instance, many with an inclination towards arts, join painting clubs while other who love cricket or badminton, join sports clubs. Moreover, these activities break the monotony of a classroom and refresh the students as they get to learn new things by pushing their creative envelopes. Not all students are good at studies but it does not mean they are not good at painting or sports. And these activites, add new meaning to their lives by teaching them about time management, discipline, sportsmanship and etc. There are many examples of people who have accomplished a lot through these activities. For instance, the world known cricketing legend, Sachin tendulkar failed in 10th standard but has won the hearts of many through his batting performance. Even the famous musician Bryan Adams who was not a academic topper became a pop sensation by following his creative passion. To conclude, To conclude, the extra-curicular activities should be promoted among students to make them multi-talented as they give them a number of career avenues. Also, make them a better human being.