Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of children playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

In today’s world computers have become an integral part in every household. People can easily access computers at the comfort of their home and unfortunately, many children have started consuming majority of their time playing computer games. This essay will discuss the undesirable impact of children playing such games and provide solution to reduce the bad effects. Firstly, computers attract children of all age groups and from playing a few games the addiction continues to grow. Millions of dollars are spent to make computer games so that they attract a large number of audiences and keep them glued to the computer screens. So they are addictive by design and this obsession hampers children's outdoor activities, studies and even time to socialize and learn important life skills. Research suggests that children who spend more screen time are likely to be less attentive than other kids. Secondly, many research works suggest that children who spend many hours playing computer games end up performing poorly in schools and avoid social events and outdoor activities. This results in physical and psychological issues including poor eyesight and despair. Moreover, violent games cloud the youngsters' judgment and make their rational thinking unstable. Oftentimes, youngsters who play violent games develop violent behaviors. The solution to this problem is simple. Set specific timings for computer usage and screen time. Parents should make sure they are strict in monitoring their children. This way, the hours can be reduced. Moreover, parents should try to indulge their kids in other physical activities like playing football, basketball or badminton. During the weekends taking them out is a good idea as it will keep their mind diverted towards other activities.