Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

School leavers usually face the dilemma of whether to pursue tertiary education or to land a job. While there are benefits to acquiring qualifications before going to work, I believe that it is better to become an employee right after school. There are several reasons why many individuals consider seeking admission to higher academic institutes a priority. Firstly, it is easier for job seekers to be noticed by employers if they possess relevant bachelor’s degrees or diplomas. Applicants who have post-graduate degrees might even find it effortless to obtain lucrative managerial positions in giant corporations such as Google or Microsoft. Secondly, university graduates are usually more prepared workers as they have countless opportunities to expand their domain, gain valuable knowledge, and enhance their collaboration skills while working in a team with other students to accomplish projects or assignments. Finally, university students could take advantage of occasions where they can cultivate and forge relationships with professors and other peers. These kinds of social relationships could benefit them in furthering their career in the long-term policy. However, I would argue that securing employment after graduation is more beneficial for high school students. First of all, working in professional environments helps students to gain practical hands-on experience and polish skills related to their chosen profession instead of mere theoretical knowledge from textbooks, which are the primary references provided in universities. These practical skills could enable them to progress more quickly, and hence, earn rapid promotion in their careers. Besides, people who pursue employment straight after school are more likely to be financially independent as they do not have to rely upon their parents or guardians to meet their living expenses. This financial independence could even allow them to afford further education if they decide to pursue it. In conclusion, I understand why a vast number of students place emphasis on going to college or university after high school. However, it seems to me that students are more likely to attain more promising careers if they continue their studies beyond school level.