Some people believe that students should take part in extracurricular clubs at school for total personality development, while others believe that it has detrimental effects on academic performance.

The best approach in resolving the increasing problem of gridlock and pollution is by raising the cost of fossil fuel. I totally agree with this view because the increase would decrease the number of automobiles on the roads. Nevertheless, constructing more roads is another excellent means to curb this menace. The reason why increasing the cost of petrol would resolve the problem of gridlock and impurities is that there would be less cars on the roads. Families with more than one car would have to think again before purchasing fossil fuels and as a result, they would either drive one car or make use of public transportation, thereby reducing congestion and contaminants caused by the release of carbon monoxide from the cars. For example, in 2011, the President of Nigeria, Goodluck Jonathan, abolished the payment of petroleum subsidy. This act increased the price of fossil fuel from eighty seven Naira to one hundred and forty five Naira. Consequently, reducing the number of automobiles on the highway. Nevertheless, I consider the construction of more roads and bridges an excellent step in curbing the menace of growing traffic and contamination. In other words, better road network would ensure free flow of automobiles and also there would be alternative routes for commuters. This would, in turn, ease congestion on major roads and subsequently, reduce impurity caused by fumes from cars. Lagos State, for example, started the construction of roads in 2015, and this had helped to greatly reduce congestion and pollutants in the air. In conclusion, I completely agree that the increase in petrol price will decrease the number of cars on the roads and the construction of more roads and bridges is a useful step to curb the menace of traffic and pollution.