Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views concerning the importance of studying food science and cooking at educational institutions. While some argue that students should focus on key subjects that can boost their career prospects, I believe culinary courses are of paramount significance in leading a healthy and independent lifestyle. On the one hand, the core disciplines standard at most schools are imperative for one’s future career. Academic subjects such as math and literature can provide an individual with the foundational knowledge to smoothly transit into a professional working environment. For example, logical thinking acquired during math lessons and critical thinking fostered by literature are prerequisites to nuanced problem-solving skills. Recent research has indicated that the average income of those with the abovementioned competencies is higher than that of unskilled laborers and the general workforce. Therefore, a successful career is a realistic possibility when one focuses diligently on the important subjects at school. On the other hand, possessing a solid understanding of food and cooking can ensure not only general well-being but also serve as a basic survival skill. First and foremost, schoolers often fail to attend to nutrition in their daily meals, which likely leads to unhealthy eating habits. Conditions caused by those occupations such as malnutrition and obesity are detrimental to the healthy growth of the younger generation. Secondly, food preparation is useful for living independently. Students who are proficient with culinary skills will be more capable of adjusting to living on their own. Indeed, food science and cooking could enable them to modify their dietary patterns to live healthier without either readily available dishes at homes or processed foods at convenience stores. In conclusion, while some advocate prioritizing traditional school curriculums based on academic subjects, I believe imparting a knowledge of nutrition and food preparation generates a great sense of independence and develops healthy eating habits for graduates. Thus, courses about food should be added to the school curriculum.