Some people believe that students nowadays take part in extracurricular activities just to earn a certificate.

In this day and age, activities related to certificate has attracted much concern of people all over the world. It is believed that students today participate in extracurricular activities solely to obtain a qualification. Personally, I completely disagree with this view since there are a variety of benefits to students acquiring to these activities. First, it cannot be denied that extracurricular activities enhance students’ soft skills. They are “real world” skills that teenagers are likely to obtain as partaking in these activities, namely problem solving, public speaking, and teamwork. It is synonymous with the fact that students can expand their networks and having a large circle of friends around the world. Second, by joining extracurricular activities, students improve their overall academic performance. Instead of getting exposure to only abstract lessons taught by teachers at school, they could easily gain practical knowledge that hardly exists in the school curriculum. Through field trips such as visiting history museums, and going to safari, their imagination, creativity, and brain function are increased dramatically. In conclusion, there are some aforementioned merits that should be taken into account carefully so that people give a sound choice.