some people believe that social networking sites eg facebook had huge negative impacts on individuals and society

People have become too dependent on automobiles. This has led to dilemmas such as traffic congestion, as well as, increased co2 emissions. This essay will further explore these problems and recommend possible ways to overcome them. Over dependence on vehicles has led to an increase in the carbon footprint. It is well known that car co2 emissions are the number one contributors to global warming worldwide. Therefore, the temperature of the earth is rising at nearly twice the rate it was 50 years ago. For instance, a newspaper article of the union of concerned scientists of America states that; one fifth of all carbon emissions are caused by cars. Hence, their usage is a major aspect of the greenhouse effect. Increase in cars has brought about the issue of extreme traffic congestion in towns. This is because the more cars there are, the more congestion is likely to occur. Moreover, the traffic has made commuting around the city much more difficult, as well as, contributed to a lot of accidents. For example, in 2016 Rolls Royce there was an 80% increase in accidents in 2008 alone. One effective approach to deal with this conundrum is to provide ‘ no vehicle zones’ in cities. These are designated areas in their center's that would be inaccessible by cars. This way, the congestion issue can be relieved. A good example of how this was proven effective was in the world cup 2014 in London, through the eradication of car zones, traffic decreased by 50% and there was more walking space. In addition to this, another approach is that laws can be passed to restrict the amount of petrol people can purchase per day. Thus, limiting their usage of their automobiles and obligating them to only use them when they absolutely need to. In conclusion humans have become accustomed to depending on their cars for most of their daily activities which have resulted in an increased greenhouse effect and a rise in traffic. This can be overcome by restricting their automobile usage through legislations.