Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interaction today.

In recent years, it is undeniable that the rapid development of science and technology have given rise to a myriad of problems. Many suggest that modern phones, which are a branch of science and technology, have significantly reduced the community activities. I am inclined to agree with this assertion and, moreover, this is a worrying trend that looks set to continue. To begin with, social media eliminates the need for a face-to-face interaction. According to recent study conducted by the Common Sense Media, half of the youngsters possess an online media account. This trend not only increases their screen time, but also immensely limits their comfort zone into chatting online. As the youngsters socialize in public, they become overwhelmed and self-conscious, since it was always the norm to type of screens and keyboards. Admittedly, media platforms enable swift communication of news and urgent messages; yet the negatives dominate and overshadow the beauties, given there are alternatives to rapid messaging such as phone calls. Furthermore, the surge in internet speeds is an indirect culprit of the issue. The establishment of 5G networks is a flawless illustration. Conceivably, this technological advancement would contribute to the plethora of pull factors into the social networking platforms. Compared to the time taken for social interaction to take place, it seems clear to the millennials that online interactions are the way to go. Their impact would be much greater than destroy social interaction, ruining the social life for everyone. In consideration of the increasing figures of both individuals on social media and the flourishing network, this is certainly a thorny issue that we will face in the future. Despite online communication platforms being at an all-time high, in terms of quantity, the quality of these conversations is questionable. I firmly restate my stance that smartphones are stripping the millennials of the true social life. It is hoped that their relationships in the future will not crumble due to the lack of genuine interaction, albeit this may already be too ambitious of a wish.