Some people believe that single-sex education brings much more benefits to children’s academic development. Other people, however, claim that studying at mixed gender schools is better for a child’s future.

It is often said that a large number of people all over the world are drawing attention to the role of single sex education in children’s development. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that studying at single gender schools helps children to achieve the high academic results. However, others argue convincingly that mixed sex education has much more benefits than single sex education for children’s future. Therefore, some major points in relation to the above issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, there are two primary points for people to defend the former argument. First of all, it is a well-documented fact that students often get better exam grades compared to those studying at mixed gender schools. For instance, 80% of high school students at single gender education in Vietnam got distinction and high distinction grades in their final exams, whereas only 55% of their counterparts at mixed gender education achieved in the year 2018. Furthermore, there is no doubt that boys and girls might have the different needs to study, so they might have the different ways to express their emotions and behaviors. For example, girls seem to be more emotional than boys, thus teachers should be patient and gentle whenever talking and interacting with them. On the other hand, there are two main evidences for other people to support the latter argument. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that the role of education is to prepare children for the modern world, so mixed gender educations should not only teach academic subjects but also provide the useful skills for children. A clear example being found to prove is that students at mixed gender schools are able to communicate and interact with others effectively regardless of gender as boys and girls study together. Moreover, there is no denying that studying at a number of mixed gender schools also helps children to earn the high academic achievements as the single gender schools do.