Some educators think international exchange programs would benefit teenagers in High School. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, some teachers believe that foreign exchange programmes are great opportunities for pupils because they can boost student’s career prospects. Whilst some argue that this trend is the main reason leading to culture shock and racist, I believe it is more largely advantageous than disadvantageous due to the growing independence and knowledge of each individual. On the one hand, engaging in international exchange projects has some negative influences on the young generation’s psychology. The first drawback is culture shock, which is entirely different in many aspects such as unfamiliar customs, different beliefs and the dissimilar time zone. In the first period, students can feel extremely lonely and they have to struggle to adapt to another culture. The culture shock can lead to numerous consequences as a misunderstanding, tension and even conflicts if people do not understand each other. Furthermore, racist is also a controversial issue, which natives treat unequal with foreigners, or they believe that their race is more intelligent, moral and better than people who belong in other races. As a result, overseas students tend to be in injustice when they enrol the global exchange programmes. On the other hand, I am firm of the opinion that international exchange projects are truly beneficial for pupils because they are met their peers from all over the world and shared knowledge about culture, academic knowledge and social skills. The student exchange programmes bring students opportunities to broaden their horizons and get a deeper insight into a culture, which can avoid culture shock. Furthermore, exchange students are also comprehended with international curriculum and experienced advanced technologies, which may not develop in their home country. Additionally, numerous students wish to become a part of noble universities and institutes in the world such as Harvard University or the University of Oxford. If employees are equipped with specialized knowledge and have a range of social skills, they will have a more successful rate to apply in some vacancies in famous incorporations. The foreign exchange programmes also boost culture inference, which is advantageous in foreign trade and international diplomacy. In conclusion, although the international exchange projects have some obstacles, studying abroad is a wise path towards becoming a well-adjusted, independent, and high-functioning member of society. In my opinion, the international exchange program’s advantages outweigh its disadvantages.