Some people believe that schools should include competitive sports as a subject while others believe that it has negative effects on children.

In our modern world, more and more children spend more and more time engaging in activities which include competitive sports at school. There are people who argue that this is beneficial to children while others disagree. On the one hand, on a day to day basis children must sit in class for many hours a day which is too much for many of them. In addition, it is a well known fact that they have a lot of energy. Therefore, from my perspective, doing activities such as football and basketball could make them to be more relaxed during normal hours which will lead to higher marks in tests and achievements. Additionally, studies which were conducted in schools have shown that achieving high scores in tests goes hand in hand with taking part in competitive sports. For example, as far as I can remember, in my school days on Sundays It was easy to understand the teacher since we played football, whereas on the other days understanding him was like fighting an uphill battle. On the other hand, while I do not agree to this way of thinking, some people believe that the majority of children play football and alike after school hours anyway. Furthermore, if every hour spent playing was replaced with learning they would perfect their knowledge and have more opportunities in life. In conclusion, as competitive sports are essential for students’ success we should not leave them to their own devices for that matter. There are no two ways about it.