Some people say that competitive sports have advantages for people from different groups and countries, while others believe that competitive sports only create problems between people.

There is a growing debate among experts that disputes between people is rising due to competitive sports while others believe the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. I will discuss my view on both sides, but, in my opinion, competitive sports should be considered as a game and nothing more. One benefit of the competitive sports is that people can be inspired by their favourite sportsmen. They can lead a determined and successful life by following principles of their heroes. For example, India worships cricket as a religion because of Sachin Tendulkar, one of the great batsmen of his time. He inspired the whole country to participate in cricket and now, India has produced several great cricketers such as Virat Kohli. Other benefits of such an event are that it brings people of different regions or countries together in solidarity to enjoy the game. Sometimes, people get carried away in competitive sports and take a loss or win personally. This leads to offensive behaviour towards the opposing team. Many a times, it can be seen in sport events that people feel frustrated when their team losses and create ruckus. For example, whenever India and Pakistan have their matches, although players may play it professionally, the crowd can become charged up and harass each other’s country. This kind of behaviour can lead to an uproar among the people such as harming each other. In conclusion, I believe competitive sports are an excellent way to promote enjoyment and solidarity among people of different cultures. We should realize that there will always be losers and winners in a game, but that should not create an environment of mass hysteria.