Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Nowadays, in many parts of the world, using solar power in the family-scale as an alternative energy is rapidly increasing. This is because of its advantages in protecting the environment and economical fuel costs. However, solar energy does have a few drawbacks. Admittedly, there are several compelling reasons why solar power is considered as a renewable and environmentally friendly energy source. Firstly, people use solar panels which is installed on the roof of houses to extract energy from the sun to operate appliances in the home instead of using electricity as before. Obviously, sunshine is an inexhautible sourse and people do not have to pay for it. Recent statistics show that nearly two-thirds of families in the North of Vietnam use solar energy lighting and heating can save up to three -fourths of electric bills monthly. Secondly, solar energy used to recharge e-bikes and hybrid vehicles which are commonplace traveling means recently. In fact, this sort of transport tool is unlikely to release fumes and emissions to the atmosphere. A recent study found that around 70% of carbon dioxide emissions in Vietnam are rooted in transport. Therefore, using eco-friendly transport means is an effective way to reduce air pollution. However, despite of the above advantages, solar power does have several cons that are unlikely solved at present. To begin with, the production of solar power depends on geographical location and weather conditions. This can be explained by the fact that, solar power almost can not be produced in nighttime and winter or on rainy days because it needs sunshine to extract energy. In addition, solar panels need a costly expense for initial install, therefore, many people are reluctant to use them. This because it is not affordable for people from low-income groups. In conclusion, despite of a few drawbacks, there is a growing trend towards using solar power as a source of household energy throughout the world because of its significant benefits.