Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, while others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

A school of thought believes that teachers should not impose homework on school children. However, the other proportion of people tends to differ from this approach. In my opinion, I believe with the former view, as there are various other activities besides education, which should be given equal importance to pupils. On the one hand, school students should not be given homework by their teachers and I agree. Firstly, children must not be confined at home or school and they should be allowed some time to play outdoors, which reduces their stress. For instance, recent research by the UK government demonstrated that when students are allowed to play under the sun, they become stronger physically and mentally. This is out of the question if they are bombarded with assignments. Further, they get a chance to spend time with their family, which enhances family bonding. Furthermore, they become multitasking as they study at school for the first half of the day and practice cultural activities for the rest of the day. On the other hand, homework helps to recapitulate what they have learned at school. For example, a survey conducted by the World Education Council illustrated that the academic score of pupils increases if they are completely occupied with homework. In addition, this method will make them concentrate only on academics. To add on, the young children will not waste their leisure time and focus only on their education. In conclusion, even though few people debate that homework is vital for children's education. I strongly believe, there must be equal emphasis on sports, cultural activities and family time, which will be curbed if young students are assigned homework.