Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems, people should be encouraged to live in the suburbs or in the countryside rather than in the cities.

Traffic congestion is one of the major problems in most of the metropolitan cities. Many people say that the solution to resolve this issue is to motivate citizens to relocate to the suburbs. I certainly disagree with the given statement, because moving to the countryside will not be the feasible solution rather improving transportation services inside the city and encourage people to use that will help to a certain extent. To begin with, because of the industrial developments and opportunities available, individuals tend to move to the urban area and density of the population in such area is more. This caused increased traffic congestion in cities. To resolve this issue, encouraging people to live in the suburbs will not be an effective solution, rather this will increase travel time for them and issue will remain the same. As an illustration, Brampton and Missisauga are the suburbs area around Toronto city, many people prefer to live here since the house prices and rents are comparatively less than the downtown's prices, but it takes around one and half hour to reach to work. Hence, clearly this solution will not help to solve the traffic and transportation issue. On the other hand, improving transportation facilities can tackle the traffic issue to a great extent. People should be encouraged to use public transit, government can declare some discounts on bus or train tickets and monthly passes, so everyone will start using public transit. Another solution to this problem can be encouraging car pooling. Some smart phone applications are already in the market to improve car pool, but they have not gotten enough popular in the society. Third solution could be changing work hours, for example, if one company starts their work at 8 am, then another company in the same area can ask their employees to start work at 9 am. This variation will help to manage the crowd on the road at the peak hours. To conclude, forcing people to move in suburbs and in the countryside will not help to address the problem of traffic congestion. I believe, encouraging them to use car pool and public transit may help along with variation in work hours to manage the crowd.