Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Although it is a popular belief that homework should not be given to students on a daily basis, some also are of the opinion that this method can be instrumental in students being successful. I firmly advocate the fact that daily revision can be very helpful. This essay will discuss both sides and try to come to a logical conclusion. Even though many feel that homework helps in education, it cannot always be true. Schools today pressurize children to do large amount of work and as a consequence, they are unable to continue to work on their interests. Additionally kids are unable to recognize their talents as they are so busy and pre-occupied in homework. For instance, if a child is intrigued and wants to learn any art form, despite having the will to work hard, he or she is unable to take out time for it. Hence, homework has led to many students losing the opportunity to learn something new. Daily homework helps a child to be on track with studies and consequently makes the time spent in school increasingly productive. Often students forget the coursework done (in the previous classes) and as a result are unable to understand the following classes properly. For example, when a child takes extended holidays due to any personal reasons, he or she finds it extremely tough to get back on track. As this can in turn behave as an obstacle in their path to success they should be trained to practice on a daily basis. This essay has discussed both points of view and I have come to a conclusion that students need to be asked to practice every day provided that it does not disturb other ways of deriving information. Every school and every student should develop an interest in all methods of acquiring education whether it is through homework or even from a vacation as both are instrumental for success.