Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people choose to live in urban areas over rural areas because of the less opportunity for work or not enough facilities to acquire good study. Thus, a recent trend is developing where youngsters are leaving their houses from underdeveloped areas for education or employment in the metropolitan. Clearly the merits of this trend outweigh the demerits which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, there are numerous advantages when youngsters move to cities for study or work. Primarily, young generation usually shift from under-developed areas to developed area for better education. To explicate, as rural places lack in the quality of education, it is affecting youngsters to gain education. As they move to big cities, the kind of ambience and environment they get for study is much better when compared to rural areas. Hence, several youths choose to study in metropolitan areas than rural areas. In addition, because developed areas will have all the factors for youth to get employment, it is helping them to earn more. To clarify, most of the companies, factories are established in or near urban areas because of the better connectivity within those areas. For instance, a famous cricketer, Mahender Singh Dhoni belong to a small rural area known as Ranchi, he moved to Mumbai when he was 24 years old and established his career in cricket. It is due to the more opportunity in cities that helped him to become a successful cricketer. As a result, to feed their family and live a decent life, young generation need a job which can mostly be obtain by moving to big cities. Moreover, another advantage of shifting to cities is young generation not only have better standard of living, but also enhance their day-to-day learning by meeting several other people. To be more specific, metropolitan cities have all the amenities that are needed to live a better life, and this has improved the living standard for the youth who choose to move out from rural areas. However, although there are very promising positive of leaving rural areas, the negatives of shifting to cities cannot be neglected. First and foremost, even though youth move to cities, but they have to leave their families, and live alone in the cities. To elaborate, many young people find it difficult to stay away from their families which makes them difficult to share an emotional bond in the cities. Apart from this, another disadvantage of people moving to cities is the increase in the population of cities which can further result in population burst. To be more specific, every city has a limitation where certain number of people can survive decently, but if those cities are the best choice of youth coming from rural areas or population, this can halt the city at some time which may affect every person who is living in that city. To exemplify, an article on explosion in population was published in the “The Times of India”, India in June 2019 published by Dr. Shashi Tharoor, explicitly stated that it the same trend continue for another 10 years, we will see a saturation point of population in the cities. Hence, the shift in the population will keep on increasing when more youngsters move to cities to study or work. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that although there is immense benefit of moving to metropolitan cities but drawbacks of it cannot be ignored. If government try to focus on developing equal opportunity and lifestyle for rural and urban areas, plenty of youth can stay with their family and choose to study or work from their hometown.