Some people believe that police should use guns to control criminals while others think that guns should not be used.

The population growth, booming economy and rapid urbanization in today's world cause the rise of crime with sophisticated forms of crime and modern weapons. People have different views of whether police should be armed with guns. From my perspective, gun is an indispensable weapon in combating crimes. On one hand, the widespread use of guns among the police may rise the risk of accidents in crowded places. For instance, police officers who force carries guns can lose control and shoot an unarmed criminal or an innocent person which lead to unexpected casualties. To deal with this problem, instead of using guns, police can use many alternatives such as tear gas, sprays and electric shock weapons. Another solution is to allow only special police units who have to face with armed offenders. On the other hand, I strongly agree that police should be armed with guns to ensure security for the people. Criminals are becoming increasingly dangerous with modern weapons that require police officers to be well armed. In many cases, shooting is the best choice at the time. For example, police need to use guns when they are attacked by dangerous criminals in self-defense. Furthermore, to prevent dangerous criminals from escaping which may cause threats to the safety of the public, shooting is the most reasonable choice for the police. It cannot be denied that, the threat of a gun can arrest criminals and avoid physical violence. With guns, police officers can force a criminal to surrender quickly, reduce the panic for surrounding people. In conclusion, I strongly believe that police should be well-equipped with guns due to the increasing level of armed criminals.