Parents Should Spend More Time With Their Children Helping Them With Their Homework | Band 7 IELTS Essay Sample

Children should be assisted by their parents in finishing the homework by giving them more attention and time. I strongly agree with the statement as it helps to develop a special emotional bond between child and parent by simultaneously monitoring the kids growth and interests in academics. A special connection is required between the elders of the house and the kids which helps them to discuss about the daily happenings in their personal life. In present day world, children are facing a lot of abuse like molestation in schools and neighbourhood. With hectic work schedules and pressure from office, people are not able to have a good family time. This is developing a gap between both the generations which is preventing the children from opening up to their parents. To bridge this gap, homework time can be one of the good choices as the parent gets to spend some extra dedicated time with kids and to know what the child is going through in his life which gives them strength and confidence to face situations. From one of the known experiences, a 6 year child was ill-treated by her own uncle at home, but, she could not discuss this with her family as both the parents were working and they could not spare much time for her during her growing years. This created a trauma which she could not overcome ever in her 20’s. In addition to it, one also needs to monitor the mental growth of a child. In spite of having great technology, a person cannot completely rely on any online classes or on a tutor to help the kid in completing homework. Most of these choices can only help to finish the home work technically but do not help a child to flourish the ideas. Only a parent can analyze the kids past interests, experiences, strengths and the target areas to focus. So only they can help the kid to overcome their fears and to explore beyond boundaries by giving an emotional push, which is very necessary to any human. One of the experiments proved that a child with extra care from elders tend to score better in academics than the independent or online educated kids because of the self-belief imbibed in them. To conclude, spending much time together can only increase a child’s mental health and makes him feel secure. If it is not possible to spend time everyday, parents should at least try and to do it more often.