Some people believe that physical fitness of strong individuals and teams is the reason for most sports achievements. Others, however, think that mental attitude is more important.

It is argued as to what makes an athlete or a team successful. While some believe the sheer physical fitness to be at the root of it, others claim mental toughness to be the main factor. This essay will analyse the arguments made by both camps before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, those who claim physical fitness to be the main ingredient of success base their idea on the fact that most of the athletes spend the majority of their training time on physical strength and conditioning, and they are rarely seen following any mental strengthening programs. Take the example of Rugby, where the most successful players are those that have spent the most training time in gyms working on their strength and agility, which directly translates to their better performance on the field. If one of these athletes starts spending less time at gyms than their competitors and start focusing on mental strengthening, then they might lose that extra strength advantage that they posses. Thus, this makes it clear why some people think this way. However, on the other hand, some people also believe that mental toughness is the ultimate deciding factor that separates a world-class athlete from the rest because at the highest level of sport all the participants are at same physical fitness levels. For example, in Freestyle Olympic Wresting, one of the toughest sports in the Olympics, athletes are divided into similar strength and weight classes which ensures that no single participant has any extra strength advantage over others, and the only deciding factor here is their mental attitude since at such a high level they all posses the same technical skill set. From this becomes quite evident why mental strength attitude could be the main reason for the success. To sum up, looking at the training programmes for most athletes, some people believe that physical strength is the main ingredient of success, but some of the highest levels of sports most athletes are at same physical levels and the only thing that separates champions from participants is their mental attitude which is why many believe this to be the main factor. I personally believe that mental attitude is the most important factor that makes athletes successful. It is predicted that athletes and their coaches will realize this and incorporate mental strengthening programs in their training routines.