Some people believe that people should be required to retire from their careers at a certain age. Others believe that people should be allowed to work as long as they like.

In recent years, with the improvement in the healthcare sector and better living standards, peoples' life expectancy has been increased. With this, they can serve and contribute to the nation's economic progress more compared to the past. In this context, retirement age is set to be fixed or to be allowed to be flexible based on an individual's ability, and interest has become a controversial issue. Although a fixed working period seems positive and consistent across all the occupations, I agree with the second option. On the one hand, delaying retirement can enable individuals to contribute actively to society. Besides, working past withdrawal life makes individuals feel physically and mentally active. Moreover, this option empowers the aging population to be financially independent and economically self-sustainable. To illustrate, developed countries such as Singapore, with a growing aging population, allow working beyond withdrawal maturity based on their job demands and the capability to handle the tasks. Thus, this option ensures the nation's economic progression and alleviates the challenges faced during old age. On the flip side, people tend to become weak as they grow older. Their physical stamina does not allow them to work as actively as they participated when they were younger. This leads to adverse effects such as health impacts and a decrease in productivity levels. Considering these factors, the government has set a rule for older to get retired. With this, people can plan their retirement well in advance in terms of their savings and spending the rest of their lives. Furthermore, mandatory retirement would allow certain room for younger people to grab with career opportunities. To sum up, though working beyond seclusion age imposes health problems that reduce productivity, the advantages outweigh the drawbacks. In my opinion, by assessing the individual capabilities and tailoring their jobs to their health profile, companies should actively involve their workers for the greater benefit.