Some people believe that parents should enforce strict rules of conduct on their children. Others are more in favour of allowing them what they want to do.

Children are by no means the most vulnerable members of society. Whether to bring up those under strict regulations or leave them to their own devices has long been a topic for discussion. It seems like some parents believe that strict rules will hinder their child’s creative development while others see that ultimate freedom will let kids run wild. From my perspective truth lies between two extremes and combined approach is a proactive one. On the plus side, it is not uncommon for children who are given freedom to have a great imagination and, by doing so they are likely to become creative workers. Also, it is often the case that following kids’ desires and wishes, entails those becoming overindulged and self-centered. Besides, those may fail to respect and even obey laws and regulations without realizing them misbehave which can be a recipe for disaster. On the other hand, some parents prefer that their children follow restrictions to make them act in accordance with the rules for their own benefits because kids cannot often decide what is good for them and have immature decision-making capabilities. However, it is largely owing to abundance of parental discipline those are more likely to have a weak personality in adulthood, thereby becoming a person who is ready to take orders from others and not being able to lead. Moreover, strict discipline may have a negative impact on problem solving skill thus will lead to the undesirable result of over dependence on others. There is no single right answer in a child rearing discussion. It seems lake both parenting practices are bound to lead to detrimental results. Hence, I do believe that parents have to find the mean between firmness and leniency.