Many people say that many subjects at schools are a waste of time. Others believe that they could be useful at some time.

Education at schools aims at equipping students with fundamental knowledge through various subjects, rang from natural to social platforms. However, with the evolution of our contemporary society, a number of school subjects in the existing syllabus, from my perspective, are time-wasting because they are not only outdated but no longer necessary, despite some people state that they may benefit students at some point. First and foremost, several subjects are being considered a waste of time. Take the subject of Agricultural Techniques, which is taught in secondary schools in Vietnam, to exemplify the statement. Historically, this subject was first introduced into the school curriculum nationwide for more than three decades, when Vietnam was a purely agricultural country, with the predominant production was rice and other plant-based products. Thus, it is understandable why Agricultural Techniques was a compulsory subject at schools at that time. Nevertheless, the Vietnam government, in recent years, targets transforming the country into an industrialised nation, in which the state has laid an emphasis on cutting-edge technology acquisition and human resources. Indeed, the strategic shift in the prioritisation of key fields in accordance with the nation's development should be reflected in its education of the next generation. Therefore, subjects like Agricultural Techniques are unnecessary and should be given way for other subjects such as Computing and Coding. Having discussed the mentioned above subjects, they actually benefit students at some point. For instance, students who take a great interest in Agriculture and desire to become specialists in the respective fields could be benefited from it because they could learn from professional teachers and have access to official learning sources. However, be that as it may, as this subject is too specific and dedicated for a particular group of students, so it should not be regarded as a compulsory subject. Instead, schools could turn it into "an optional subject", by which students could choose to study in the extra curriculum. In conclusion, many school subjects are no longer useful for most students in modern society. Thus, it is suggested that schools should remove them from the syllabus and introduce them as optional objects for students.