Graduating from university is still believed by some to be the best way to secure a well-paid job, others believe that gaining experience is more beneficial.

It is sometimes considered that a good education is a key to landing a plum job, while others think that being experienced is the key to secure a well-paid job. I do believe that the truth lies between these two extremes and both professional and academic background are equally valuable. First of all, university degree provides you with specific skills and knowledge that can be essential for your future occupation. For example, you can’t become a doctor without a proper theoretical background, like deep knowledge of anatomy, diseases, treatment methods, etc. Higher education provides future specialists with all necessary knowledge and specific skills. Also, nowadays internship is a part of the majority of first and higher university degree programs. Hence, university education is not by any means only theoretical and students get some experience as well. On the other hand, there are some kinds of jobs which do not require any specific education and only your personal qualities and experience can help to success. For instance, most of people who work in sales do not have any specific degree. However, it is clear that the majority of employers require that person have a university degree as well as some experience. Every individual gains experience after getting hired, but degree is usually mandatory to be applied for your first job. In conclusion I would like to occupy the middle ground regarding the importance of education and experience in landing highly paid job. It seems to me that every job requires both university degree and experience. Only a person who have both these aspects can become a well-paid specialist.