Some parents believe that famous athletes are not good role models for children.

Around the world today, young people have many sources of inspiration for their lives. Television and magazines offer stories about remarkable people in art, politics, and science. Over the past century, athletes have also become prominent, and many of them now earn more money in one year than doctors or human-rights activists earn in their entire lifetime. Although these sport stars are highly skilled and deserve their success, many parents question whether athletes are appropriate role models for youths. On the one hand, athletes can be ideal role models, since their success comes from many hours of practice and concentration, rather than their connection to rich or powerful people. In team sports, the best athletes also demonstrate important skills like cooperation and leadership, and in competitive sports they show why it is important to keep trying even after failing many times. However, the competitive nature of sports can also lead many athletes down a darker path. Numerous scandals reveal that some of our most adored athletes put winning above virtue—namely honesty. One example is Lance Armstrong, whose Model answer I national Institute of Language desire to win the Tour de France led him to take drugs for many years and to treat everyone who knew his secret with great cruelty. In short, it seems to me that parents should be cautious about the mixed message communicated in the world of sports. Although it is inspiring to read stories about poor children becoming world champions, we must avoid teaching children that winning is the only thing of value. .