Some people believe that online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. 40 mins

The ability to read is significantly required to survive in this modern era. Some people deem that children should develop this skill through online resources. I would agree with those who promote the use of traditional books for enhancing the reading strength. As per the opponents, resources available online have a huge variety of topics and adolescents can take advantage of such an opportunity. This is because this could be the fastest and convenient way to get such knowledge, as there is no requirement to print and deliver, which also contributes positively to the environment. For instance, Wikipedia, an online encyclopedia offers reading material for children, which help them expand their horizons, and preventing them from violence and drug-related topics. Furthermore, online topics are followed by interactive tests and games, which would be helpful for children to grasp that knowledge and retain this for long periods. However, the reliability is still questionable because of the diversity of topics and cultural variations which means that it would be difficult to monitor the content for parents, teachers and even the governments. Nevertheless, the content in paper-based books are more reliable because the publishers have to go through standard procedures to publish such books. This means that the books is reviewed by the designated bodies, and after their approval the book is published. In contrast, websites offering knowledge-based articles might mislead their readers through false information. Another benefit paper-books is that they put less strain on eyesight as compared to computer screens, meaning that there are less chances that children will suffer from the symptoms of poor vision. In conclusion, although online resources have more variety and interactive learning methodologies, I believe that the reliability is the predominant factor and so the books appear to be more beneficial for children to enhance their reading capability.