Some people believe that one-on-one lessons are better for learning while others think that group lessons are superior. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

People have different views about which way of conducting lessons is beneficial for students. While some argue that group sessions provide better opportunities for student's interaction and overall development, I support those who believe that one-to-one lessons can improve academic performance of students. On the one hand, there are plenty of advantages of group lessons. First of all, students in group classes can observe each other’s progress and mistakes, as well as learn information together and support each other at the same time. In this way, students are encouraged and helped to develop and practice team skills such as leadership, communication, and conflict management. By competing with each other in class, students can be motivated by classmates' achievements and work hard in order to improve their level of knowledge to keep up with their peers. On the other hand, it is understandable why some people, including myself, believe that individual sessions can improve academic performance of students. With the one-on-one model, teachers are committed to listening to the student and actively respond. This allows them to focus on the of students’ strengths and weaknesses, and tailor the educational curriculum in accordance with their abilities and skills. Also, with such kind of interaction and self-driven course work, students cannot rely on their peers or copy someone else’s work. This highly increases a student’s personal responsibility over their learning, forcing them to take the studying process seriously and fully master the materials. In conclusion, although group sessions can provide more opportunities for the free exchange of ideas and healthy competition between students, I personally believe that personal lessons are more beneficial for learners in as much as they give students the opportunity for better interaction with teachers and a chance to step up and not rely on others.