Some people believe that no one should be allowed to continue working after the age of 65. However, others say there shouldn't be a limitation on age and anyone should be allowed to work regardless of their age.

With the rise in inflation and standard of living, many countries are planning to revise the age limit on retirement. There are different opinions around whether people beyond 65 should be permitted to work or not. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives before a conclusion is reached. For those who oppose people working beyond the age of 65 are of the opinion that, after an individual reaches the retirement age, the level of productivity and efficiency at work starts deteriorating because the mind and body gets worn out working continuously for several years. To add to the above, supporters of this group strictly believe that after the age of 65, people should give themselves time to rest and get actively involved in activities that they have always hoped to do such as travelling, spending time with their family and so on. For instance, my grandfather retired at the age of 60, because of which I was extremely fortunate to get his time, attention and create memories together as a child. Furthermore, old and experienced individuals pose a threat to young job seekers in the job market, and so when the old employees retire, it creates new job opportunities thus reducing the unemployment rate. On the other hand, there are some people who are of the view that, there should not be any age limit to work. Supporters of this group understand the harsh reality of life and realize that with the constant increase in the cost of living, it's impossible to sustain without any fixed income. Additionally, because these individuals have been working all their life, it becomes frustrating to sit at home aimlessly causing anxiety and depression. For instance, my father is 70 years of age and he continues to work, as the thought of idling away his time to glory kills him. Also, when employees continue to work beyond their retirement age, along with the employees, the employers also benefit as they don't have to go through the painful process of hiring and training a new employee thus, allowing them to cut costs. On analyzing both the sides, I personally believe that retiring should be a very personal choice. As long as an individual feels comfortable and his health permits them to work, they should carry on serving their company.