Some people believe that modern technology has made printed books, newspapers and magazines unimportant. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to the advent of advanced means of technology in the form of internet, a portion of people reckon that the books, newspapers and magazines are becoming redundant. I agree with this viewpoint to some extent as I opine that the printed versions have not lost complete significance. There are still loads of people who prefer the printed forms. To embark on, the books are being used by huge amount of population as there are backward areas where there could be no internet connection. For instance, the rural areas in most of the developing countries such as India are, unfortunately, suffering from no internet connectivity which makes it pivotal for such dwellers to rely on books or newspapers. Secondly, although the eBooks are gaining popularity, however, most of the school and college pupils use printed books as a main source of attaining knowledge. Thirdly, it is also true that a chunk of people, particularly older generation, uses newspapers and magazines to read news as they are so used to it and probably do not even know how to make use of the internet. Nonetheless, because of the ease of access and convenience, reading material online is rife these days. For reading eBooks and news, one does not have to go to a particular place to buy a book, however everything can be accessed at the click of the mouse. Furthermore, online versions do not even require the use of paper, which ultimately prevent cutting of trees. In conclusion, it can be admittedly said that more and more people are relying on online material to read any book or news. Nevertheless, it can also not be denied that printed material is still popular in schools, some rural areas and amongst elder people.