Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Product advertisement plays a vital role in the success of any business. Nowadays, every company spend billions of dollars to promote their products. A few people believe that advertising introduce us to new products which we may really need, but strong arguments are in the favour that this is a waste of money as it also compromise products quality. I shall discuss this further in this essay. There is no doubt that promoting the products gets potential buyers and increase revenues. It helps people to know about the new technologies and advancement of products they are already using and needs an update which may reduce their unnecessary work and saves their time. Moreover, government also earns huge amount of money by displaying ads in airports, public transport and bus stands which helps in nation's economy. Despite the fact that using advertisements for awareness brings great benefits, it is also important that most companies use almost one third of their earnings on promotions and they do not care about product quality which does not justify the price consumer have to pay for their product. Furthermore, commercials are sometimes misleading and contain false information about the merchandise which in turn affect the customers. They don't get exactly what they saw on ads and paid for which adversely affect the positives of adverts. To conclude, advertisement sector has its own benifits and drawbacks but the negatives clearly outweighed the positives. I believe that organizations should stop wasting their money and pay more attention toward goods quality which will bring more satisfied consumers.