Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, reducing crime level is becoming increasingly challenging among governments and communities. There is division among people as to whether it is better to impose lengthy jail sentences or apply other ways for bring criminal activities down. As well as offering my personal opinion, this essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to way both of such options can be efficient to tackle this issue. More than ever before, the death penalty, imprisonment and especially life sentence are society's more powerful ways to deter criminality. Put simply, such kinds of punishments can preserve the individuals, and as a result the society. For example, it is immoral for the state to kill its citizens. Hence, life imprisonment and the death penalty are essential for some crimes when serious misdeeds are committed, like murder. Furthermore, a longer sentence may even decrease reoffending rates, especially when serious repeat offenders are concerned. Statistically, evidence suggests that 32% would-be offenders have deterred felonies because of their fears of harsher sentencing and a doomed future. Overall, these people are in favour of this idea as small fines for the special type of crime do not act as much of a deterrent. On the other hand, such kinds of actions can be controlled to prevent crime by other alternatives. One solution way to reduce crime is counselling. Many criminals suffer from drug addiction, mental health problems and other societal issues. Whilethis is what leads them to commit crime in the first place, they can be counselled in terms of physically and mentally. Secondly, emphasis should be placed upon ealy education. Youth should be educated about the dengars of becoming a law breaker. Foe instance, they could be taken the prisons to meet with inmates who are serving life sentences. This would surly dissuade them from becoming criminals. in conclusion, this essay discussed the various reasons why people hold these points of view and whether longer staying in jail or other solutions stop people from carry out a crime.