Some people believe that long prison sentences can reduce crime while others think that there are better alternative options for the same. Discuss both the view and give your opinion

Crime rates are tremendously increasing day by day. Lack of strict rules and lack of moral values are the primary reasons for this rise. There is a belief among many people that crime rates can be reduced by giving criminals long sentences in prison. Whereas, there is another view that better alternative measures can be used in the reduction of crimes. I strongly agree with the latter view, except that I prefer using both hand in hand. There are numerous advantages in broadening the span of prison life. Hence, prisoners will get more time re-evaluate their deeds and a lot of room is there for re-education and training them to get out of this criminal aura. Moreover, this alteration can bring in fear among the others being conscious of the long prison life they have to encounter after committing a crime. For instance, the rules in Saudi Arabia is very strict and people know that once they enter the jail there it is equivalent to imprisonment till death. Consequently, even the people reaching there for jobs or other purposes are always careful not to be a cause of trouble in any ways. Apart from long prison sentences, there are other better options to cut down crime rates. Firstly, Imposition of strict laws and punishment practices can eventually reduce crime rates. Nevertheless, death sentences, slap punishment, long term imprisonment, strict punishments for even small crimes will make people think twice before proceeding with crime. Also, people should be made aware of the changes of the same. The other better option is conducting self-awareness programmes everywhere from child to old to build in moral values and to think about others before doing a crime. In addition, effective monitoring and patrolling by police force and public can decrease the probability of crimes. To conclude, in my perspective, even if long prison sentences can effectively reduce crimes to some extent, the use of this method in conjunction with the other better options can contribute to the prevention of crimes successfully.