Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important.

Today keeping animals in zoos is an extremely controversial issue. A number of people consider that it is a violation of animal rights, while others disagree and support zoos since it is entertaining and ecologically important. To begin with, the trend of keeping animals in zoos has several drawbacks such as animals lose instincts and bad management in zoos. Animals can lose instinct to fight or hunt and this leads to adverse effects on their life when they move to wildlife. Moreover, the original purposes of zoos could be corrupted due to wrong management and chasing for profit. For instance, in order to increase profit and attract more visitors, zoo's workers try to catch rare species and bring them in a cage. Even though the adverse effects could occur, zoos still have advantages. They are designed to protect endangered species such as pandas, rhinos and leopards from environmental and human harm. Furthermore, zoos allow scientists to study animals in a convenient way and understand their needs for their protection and conservation. Zoos are educational and interesting, for example, children can enjoy the time in zoos and learn a lot about wildlife and nature. In addition, zoos develop the local economy by providing job opportunities and revenue. In conclusion, keeping animals in the zoos is also hazardous for them owing to the fact that real goals of zoos could be corrupted by management. However, if management considers animal welfare and covers their needs, zoos can protect endangered species and research them, and help people learn about wildlife.