Some people believe that it is the government's responsibility to deal with the climate problem while others feel that the responsibility lies within the people and the public and they can do more. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

People hold different views about whether it is the government’s responsibility to handle the problems with climate change or each individual should be responsible for that. From my standpoint, it will be more beneficial and effective if both the country’s authorities and citizens share the work. On the one hand, the government may play a pivotal role in maintaining the environment safe and healthy. Authorities should be the ones to introduce legislation to address environmental issues like air pollution and water pollution. For instance, stronger laws should be enacted to encourage factories to relocate to rural areas or build a separate industrial park rather than remain in cities. This could aid the protection of the urban areas from toxic gases and industrial waste that are constantly released by businesses everyday. Another important duty for the government to perform is to raise people’ awareness about climate change, by creating and using advertisements on television or hanging banners on the street. Individuals who care about their own living environment being affected by their actions may try to change their lifestyle in order to avoid harming the environment. On the other hand, each person can play an important role in protecting their own neighborhood. Private transport like cars and motorbikes are considered to be a major source of air pollution. The air is contaminated with their exhaust gases, including a lot of dust. Therefore, if people try to use more public transports, they will be able to protect the environment. Another useful hack for citizens is to reduce, reuse and recycle. The amount of plastic waste being discharged every year is uncountable, and by using less plastics or trying to recycle them will help the waterways from being contaminated and people are able to conserve drinkable water and its inhabitants. In conclusion, climate change is a sensitive topic and requires long-term actions to protect the environment due to the large amount of work involved. I believed the efforts of both the authorities and their citizens would result in the most effective way of preserving the environment.