second language learning survey

The discussion of introducing foreign language courses has been a hotly debated topic amongst parents. In my opinion, having foreign language courses in elementary school is a more suited option due to the nature of child development. Firstly, children who are under the age of twelve can absorb knowledge more effortlessly. This is because children generally have ongoing rapid brain development in this period. Also, language courses in elementary school can start with a fun and enjoyable method of teaching so that students can gain knowledge through joyful games for long-lasting learning results. On the other hand, some parents believe that studying a new language at high school is more sound. Nonetheless, high school students' academic pressure is so loaded to them already. One clear reason is that they need to the jungle with multiple subjects at this point of time, like Physics and Biology. Moreover, testing may be the main learning form for high schoolers to study, and it may eliminate their interest in studying another language. Based on the above discussion, I still stand by my stance that foreign language courses should start in elementary school.