Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children’s time is better spent on more academic subjects.

Children spend a large portion of their formative years at educational institutions, and while some argue that academic subjects should be given more importance than Physical Education subjects, I believe that the latter is as essential, if not more so, than the former due to its numerous positive effects on the development of mental and physical abilities of young impressionable children and their future lives as well as career prospects. The main argument against the inclusion of Physical Education classes in schools is that academic subjects such as Mathematics, Physics, English, etc. , are seen as more essential for a child’s development than physical training. This, in turn, results in schools spending considerably more money on ensuring their institutions are well-equipped to teach instead of upgrading their sports facilities. This belief neglects the individual skills and mental caliber of children and ignores the scientific fact that all children are different: some may be innately predisposed to sports, which is another form of Physical Education, while other children might find that they enjoy studying theoretical subjects more. Physically gifted children may go on to have professional careers in sports and physical training, and therefore, getting them started earlier on may be beneficial to them. Furthermore, Physical Education classes may provide a fun break from academic classes, constantly studying which may get mentally taxing and monotonous. Another reason is that schools do not realize their responsibility to inculcate productive exercizing habits from early on, and therefore believe that the onus of introducing physical education in the daily life of children is on their parents. This notion is dangerous because educational institutions cannot evade their responsibility to help create a strong foundation for children, which could facilitate in their becoming well-adjusted and functional adults in the future. It is also possible that the amount of schoolwork allotted to children may eat into the time they could potentially devote to exercize in their everyday lives. Moreover, since parents are not trained educators, they might not know the significance of daily exercize and physical education. In conclusion, I strongly believe that Physical Education classes are immensely important for school-age children because both their minds and bodies need training and development, and focusing on one and neglecting the other may restrict their physical and mental growth and negatively impact their future.