Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It cannot be denied that hardships and unpleasant circumstances are unavoidable facts of human life. Some people suggest that accepting the situation is the optimal approach, while others prefer making efforts to overcome troubles. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and elaborate on why I believe the latter is stronger. There are two primary reasons why many individuals argue that accepting difficult situations in life is the best option. Firstly, acceptance of this fact may help people avoid being overwhelmed by negative emotions. For example, if an applicant who is being late for an important interview due to a traffic jam can accept the situation and not rage at a traffic light as well as other drivers, he will absolutely arrive at the interview less distressed. Furthermore, drowning in own thoughts of trying to control the beyond ability matters may result in frustration and desperation along with unconscious actions such as suicide, drug abuse, or committing a crime. Nevertheless, I would argue that we should have a proactive attitude and try to find answers to any predicament in our lives. The major merit of acting proactively is that it keeps us in a state of continuous learning and improvement, which will provide us with valuable opportunities to enhance our awareness and foster self-improvement. As a result, we are more likely to become successful in our personal lives and careers. For instance, in case of being unemployed or shortage of money, rather than looking for somebody to blame or complain to, some people may use opportunities to find new jobs, come back to school to advance valuable skills, or create their own business instead. This may bring benefits to not only themselves but also many people around. Besides, a problem solved will help people to build their confidence to face the dilemma of situations in which they must accept. Therefore, I believe that in most cases, the effort to better unfavorable situations would be rewarded. In conclusion, although there is evidence to support the claim that it would be better to accept what happened, I believe that people should spend more time and effort to overcome bad situations.