Some people believe that international companies should take responsibility for dealing with environmental and social problems in the world.

The previous century was characterized by the emergence and growth of huge multinational companies in the world, some of which monopolized the market and generated substantial revenues by selling their products in all corners of the world. However, as a number of global issues, like poverty and climate change, have assumed importance, many people hold the view that such corporations are expected to adopt and play an active role in tackling such issues. I agree with this idea entirely. From an environmental perspective, the emission of greenhouse gases is the root cause of global warming and the problems that follow such as the melting of the Arctic ice. Although the Kyoto Protocol exerts pressure on industrialized countries to lessen the amount of CO2 they produce, greenhouse emissions are still a serious issue posing serious threats to human race in the not-too-distant future. Given that this growing problem is caused by such industry giants, it is reasonable to expect them to appropriate a proportion of their income for environmental issues. Some of these companies claim that they conduct groundbreaking research to devise more environmentally-friendly methods, and reduce the harm they do. True as it may be, they still have to pay money to support green projects all over the world, because it is a problem for which they should assume responsibility. These profitable companies should also be involved in social activities. Modern human societies are faced with numerous social disorders, including starvation, illiteracy, vice and poverty. Under the circumstances that every single person should perform a role in tackling these issues, can such successful leading companies remain indifferent to the aforementioned problems? In fact, their wealth and reputation should be attributed to human behaviour to purchase their products, so they are indebted to humanity and human societies. For the purpose of illustration, consider the most successful entrepreneur in the world, Bill Gates, who has devoted his entire life to humanitarian purposes. Apart from the moral part, this course of action can even lead to greater success, because people have a positive sense, knowing that they can help starving children in Africa if they purchase certain goods or services from a company. To sum up, it is high time reputable companies served a more active role in dealing with environmental and social issues affecting the entire humanity. It is through such participation that they can maintain the trust of the general public and move into the new era.