Some people believe that homework should not be given to school children. Others, however, say that homework is an important requirement for children to be able to develop appropriately.

Homework, that is studies to be done at home after school hours, has existed as a tradition since the dawn of the education system. However, recently this practice has been questioned and there are supporters of the view that no work should be given to children for home. Both the views are fairly persuasive with their merits, we shall discuss both at length here. Studies at home are important for retaining what has been learnt at the school. Without revision there are chances that students would not remember what was taught during the school hours. Thus, homework plays a key role in understanding and cementing the knowledge acquired. In the absence of such assignments, kids are usually motivated to vile away their precious time in video games, social media, television, and so on. Hence, it is preferred that the free time is spent on doing school projects, which ensure the higher scores in the examination. Additionally, these days with the advancement in technology the school projects have now become more challenging. It requires a lot of research to accomplish complex tasks assigned. Besides, pupils often seek help from elders to accomplish coursework which results in gainful interactive sessions between parents & children and this enhances their bond. However, recently there have been objections from the parents on the amount of homework given and the pressure created on the child not only in the school but also outside it. A child spends most of the time in school & tuitions. Parents feel that homework is just an added burden leaving no time for any physical activity or out door games. Education should focus on the all-round development rather than just bookish content. Social interactions, playing games like football in teams, developing hobbies are also equally important for a well-balanced growth. In my view, homework still remains vital method for inculcating discipline & encouraging self-learning practices. Homework in the form of captivating projects, demanding research should be made an integral part of teaching process to fuel the quest for knowledge in young minds.