Some people believe that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of doing homework and give your own opinion.

It is without dispute that in this technological breakthrough era, alongside studying in the constraint of school hours, homework has become an indispensable part of students’ daily life. While there are certain benefits to minors who frequently take revisions to their homework, I am convinced that they are eclipsed by the downsides. On the one hand, adolescent learners can tremendously benefit from doing homework. To commence with, doing assignments at home could significantly help students consolidate their knowledge. Due to solving those problems from exercise, students must apply the previously learned theories, concepts and look back to the necessary expertise, which enables them to have a better knowledge retention and intensive understanding of the lessons. Additionally, young learners can gain a handful of essential skills via this form of education. Precisely, when children deal with tough tasks, they would refer to looking up various sources on the Internet; therefore, they have to synthesize and condense what they researched. Consequently, it cultivates their independent learning, cognitive and problem-solving skills as minors having to do assignments by themselves at their own pace. On the other hand, despite aforementioned benefits, I argue that the shortcomings are far more significant. The first worth mentioning adverse ramification is that teachers hand in numerous homework for students may be counterproductive. The reasoning lies behind the fact that there are an excessive number of lessons at school rendering them too tired to do further study at home. As a result, doing homework may have an adverse ramification to young learners' mental and physical health by putting too much pressure and shortening their time to release their fatigue. Another negative effect is that staying up late to finish homework may have a high level of irregular sleep patterns, which inevitably leads to cardiovascular diseases and their poor study concentration and academic performance. Secondly, doing assignments excessively has made adolescent learners neglect extracurricular activities which are as beneficial as specialized knowledge. This in turn makes them fail to communicate or cooperate with others as a team may be a disadvantage in their future career prospects. In a nutshell, although homework supports children in the educational sector, I am strongly convinced that they are outweighed by the downsides.