More And More Youngsters Have Unsupervised Access To The Internet

Social media applications are becoming increasingly common and can be detrimental to children who frequently use them without any supervision to interact with old and new friends. This essay will suggest some ways to tackle this social problem. One main problem that results when children use online forums to connect with their peers and strangers is that they become exposed to negative influence and cyber predators. In an attempt to find solutions, parents need to enlighten their young adults on the disastrous consequences of chatting with people on the internet so that they do not fall victims. Additionally, parents can periodically monitor chats and messages of their teens to ensure that they are not receiving any threats or illicit images from the people they socialize with. For example, a recent report by BBC has revealed that parents who supervise their children’s online activities are twice likely to discover any usual activity and take necessary action than those who do not do this. Another possible solution is for social media companies to set up age limits on networking apps. For instance, Facebook recently updated its privacy policy that limits access to kids under the age of ten. Moreover, WhatsApp, a major social media app, recently announced plans to unveil its messaging app for kids. Hopefully, this would help to reduce the number of young people who are bullied online since only teenagers will use it. To conclude, young people use the internet daily to interact with various people online without any guidance and this makes them fall prey to cyber crime. In order for children to be out of harm’s way, parents should keep an eye on their communications and give them advice, and social media companies need to provide apps that are suited for them.