Some people believe that having a job you enjoy is more important than earning a high salary.

There are many factors that affect people's working life, such as having an enjoyable career, being creative or earning a lot of money. Although doing work we like is important, having a high income is arguably more important because it affects us in many other ways. Firstly, the money from a well-paid job gives us a sense of status that makes us feel valued. It is true that we can feel valued in some roles where there is a friendly, supportive environment. However, in many jobs we can not rely on respect and support form work colleagues. Jobs in banking, for example, are often quite competitive and involve staring at a computer screen for much of the time. Without the compensation of a high salary, workers in these roles might feel low self-esteem. In addition, a high salary means that people can plan for the future more easily and have more opportunities in life. On the other hand, we may like our boss and enjoy working with our colleagues. But on the other words, if we do not earn a high salary, our future might be more difficult. For example, we might not be able to support our children through university or might not have enough money for our retirement. If a low salary impacts on our children's future or our lifestyle in retirement, this could make us very dissatisfied. In conclusion, even if people really enjoy their jobs, they are unlikely to be happy and comfortable without a high level of income. A good salary can make so many other areas of life better, and it is therefore more important than doing work you like.