Some people believe that governments should spend the majority of their transport budgets on rail transport, while others say this money should be used to build more roads.

It is clear that traffic congestion is a serious problem for most countries around the world, especially developing countries. There are people who say that the governments should spend the most of their transport budgets on rail transport. However, there are some others who think that this money should be paid for building more roads. This essay will discuss both sides as well as give my opinion. First of all, railways are believed to be invested by governments because that is one of the faster means of transport. Railways are suitable for people travelling long distances more easily. Furthermore, according to environmental problems such as traffic jams and air pollution, constructing rail transport is the best way to solve these issues due to railways eliminating less amount of carbon dioxide than other private vehicles such as cars and motorbikes. Therefore, governments should spend budgets upgrading railways not only for safer and fewer accidents but also for being environmentally-friendly. On the other hand, there are some reasons why building more roads and making the roads bigger are better alternative ways to reduce the issue of traffic nowadays. To begin with, existing roads are insufficient to provide the space for the increasing number of motorbikes and cars. In large cities, people usually commute to work by car, which may lead to a rise in traffic jams downtown. Therefore, roads should be built and extended to cope with traffic congestion. Secondly, roads are more convenient to compare with railways because people can go every time and they don’t have to travel to stations. Besides that, roads are easily built almost everywhere due to their connectivity. In conclusion, although building more roads is easier and economical, it seems to me that investing in railways is the better choice to reduce the amount of vehicles and environmental problems.